Citizen claims 10 KPA awards, takes 3rd in General Excellence in the state

January 31, 2024

For the fourth straight year, the Berea Citizen placed in the Top 3 in the Weekly Class 2 category in the state during the Kentucky Press Association awards banquet Friday night in Bowling Green.

The Citizen and its staff received four first-place awards, including three by Publisher Keith Taylor, and won 10 awards overall. Taylor also was named Best Editorial Writer, Best Sports Columnist and won a top finish in the Best Feature Picture Category.

Judges applauded Taylor’s editorials, including his stance on the importance of public notices and voting.

“These are the kind of editorials that local journalists should do periodically to remind the community why we do what we do and why it matters. Nicely written and easy to read. The voting matter was well-researched, too.”

Taylor took second place for Best Columnist.

“Heartfelt and humorous,” judges wrote. “It’s easy to see the perspective of what the column seems to display: An every day citizen of Berea.”

In the Sports Column category, Taylor also took first place, and his sports column on late Eastern Kentucky football coach Roy Kidd drew praise from judges.

“The strongest piece to me because of the personal ties. That was cool to read his the two of you were tied together and it really made the column feel the most personal of the three submitted.”

In the photo division, judges were drawn to a photo take during a Pool Palooza event last summer and judges said Taylor did a “nice job of capturing the fun.”

Freelancer Mike Moore also claimed first-place honors for his photo package of Little League opening day.

“Great job of expressing photos expressive children having fun with the game,” judges said.

In the Best Special Section/Best Sports Section category, Taylor and Debbie Warford took third place for their work on the 2023 Berea Magazine.

“Unique cover set the tone and concept for the entire section,” judges said in their remarks.

Taylor finished third in the Best Front Page, Best Headline Writer category. He also received a certificate of merit for Best Editorial Page and Best Website.

phil malicote